Life On The Other Side…


My Provider…
April 16, 2010, 6:06 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

As a single mom, I think one of the toughest things is the financial aspect.  For 2o years, I stayed home to raise my daughters.  I worked little jobs here and there to provide extra income, or to make up for shortages when my husband’s income wasn’t the best.  I made crafts, sewed American Girl doll clothes, made costumes for little girls, read books for Doubleday Books, worked in our church nursery just to name a few!!   Of course, none of those jobs provided enough to actually “live on”–they were just supplemental income.

When my husband moved out almost 2 years ago, we didn’t have a court order in place concerning alimony/child support, so he just gave me what he wanted—it’s still that way!   I was fortunate enough that I have parents that, God bless them, have helped me out so much over the past two years.  I know that not everyone is that lucky.  If not for them, we would have lost our home a year ago.

I have come to a point where I need to be making better money to relieve my parents of that added stress.  I tried to get on at my workplace full time, but right now they just don’t need the help.  My photography business has also not picked up as I had hoped it would.  I knew that my only hope was in God.

I am a Christian.  I believe God’s Word.  God’s Word tells me that He IS my provider.  His Word says that He shall supply ALL my needs–not just some, but ALL.  I have had a hard time believing in this concept.  It is not a “name it and claim it” philosophy.  When Christ went to the cross, He not only took sickness and disease, but he took poverty as well.  As I studied this concept, I realized that I have a poverty mentality!  I realized that I felt that I don’t deserve to be prosperous.  That is a lie out of the pit of hell!   Jesus came to give us life, and life more abundantly!

Most people think this is talking about spiritual things, and in a way, it includes spiritual things, but it also means all things that pertain to life.  A home and food pertain to life, don’t they?  Having money to pay bills pertains to life, doesn’t it?   God provides for the birds of the air, and the flowers in the field, so why wouldn’t He provide for me and my daughters?

Sunday at church, I went forward to have some prayer warriors pray for me about my finances.  They prayed with me.  They spoke to my business and commanded prosperity on it.  I knew that God was going to bless my business.

I went home that day, expecting a bump in my finances.  It is now almost a week later, and the financial blessings have rained upon me this week!  I got about 6 orders for my photography business, was hired to shoot a prom tonight, and a wedding on Sunday!  On top of that, my tax guy called to tell me my taxes were done and that I was getting a huge amount back–the most I’ve ever gotten!!  Praise God!

It is only when we realize that God is our Provider–I am not my provider, my job is not my provider, my husband is not my provider!  It is in Christ alone that I can rely to provide for me.  That doesn’t mean that I can just sit home and wait for God to drop money in my bank account.  It means that as long as I am doing something, God will multiply it!   What it doesn’t mean is that I can go out and spend frivolously or extravagantly.  It doesn’t mean I can run out and charge a bunch of stuff on my credit card either!    I need to be a good steward of what God has given me.  I need to be wise in my spending.

I look over the years of my life and I remember the things God has done for me.  About 18 years ago, we had a utility bill that we didn’t have the money to pay for.  We prayed about it and the next day there was a check for the exact amount from our church!  We called the church to find out what it was for, and the pastor said he had been praying and the Lord told him we needed that amount!    A few months after my husband moved out, he lost his job and I had to make a house payment—-I knew that unless God provided a miracle, I wouldn’t be able to make the payment.  I prayed about it and that very day, I was asked to design some cards for an online company.  They asked how much I charged—I didn’t really know because I had never done that before.  I prayed about the amount and God told me to put it back in their hands.  I contacted the company, told them I really had no idea and what would they offer me.  They emailed me back and gave me an amount that was 3 times what I was originally thinking about charging!   There have been other things like this.

I don’t want to be like the Israelites in the wilderness….I want to remember daily all that God has done for me.  God is my provider and He will never let me down.  Do you keep in remembrance all the good things God has done for you?  Is He your provider?   Or are you relying on yourself or someone else to provide for you?  I encourage you to seek God in this area of your life.   I AM blessed and highly favored!  Are you?!?!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great post Monica. Awesome reminder for me.

Comment by Ted Mehl

Well said, Monica! If you want to learn how to rely on God, just open a business. We pray every day for God to help us with Nemo’s. We look at it as if Nemo’s is God’s shop, and we just work there, to glorify Him. Relying on God takes such a burden from out shoulders. We have learned to pray for God’s will to be revealed for us, not to pray for success as we see it. As a result, if Nemo’s makes it, then we are happy. If Nemo’s does not make it, then we believe God has a different path for us, and we will still be happy. We show up every day and work hard, and we believe that glorifies God.

Comment by JD Anderson




Leave a Reply

